The Canadians Have Read The Arthashastra. Have We? – Sam Sekhar

This best illustrates the service that is rendered so promptly to folks who served in the defence of their nation.

India being part of the Commonwealth THE ROYAL CANADIAN LEGION recognizes me to be a VETERAN FOR MY SERVICE IN THE INDIAN AIR FORCE.

I called the LEGION office in AURORA, ONTARIO and spoke to THE ASSISTANT EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR. She told me I was qualified and sent me the application form. In 48 hours I had the authority for a VETERAN LICENCE PLATE for my car.

I took this to SERVICE ONTARIO (THIS OFFICE IS LIKE THE R T O office in Pune). I applied for the plate with a personal touch of having my name on the plate.

In two weeks the plates arrived at my residence. I took them over and surrendered my old plates and had the new ones installed after they were duly registered.

The plate is only for veterans and upon death it is to be removed and kept as a memory by the family.

The plate indicates it is an ONTARIO car plate. Road tax paid up till 2017 November.

The logo of the VETERAN LEGION is the POPPY flower with the words VETERAN written below.

My name in bold letters.

Sekhar vet

One might ask what is so great.

When you are driving around occasionally you get:

A nod and smile from another driver or pedestrian.

Sekhar1

Occasionally some honk and wave.

In a crowded parking lot while I am cruising to find a parking spot some walking folks wave and say follow me I am vacating my spot and it is all yours.

On VETERANS DAY you get a lot of cat calls and whistles.

YOU MAY ASK DOES THIS MAKE ME FEEL GOOD.

NO!  I SAY IT MAKES ME FEEL WONDERFUL, ELATED. RESPECTED, FABULOUS AND THANKFUL I SERVED IN THE INDIAN AIR FORCE AS A FIGHTER PILOT.

THIS MAY SOUND SENTIMENTAL  BUT IT IS A FEELING BEYOND COMPARE.

sekhar and car

Senti Sam

2 Responses to The Canadians Have Read The Arthashastra. Have We? – Sam Sekhar

  1. menonckk says:

    Sam; thanks for the tip: Never thought of it. I had stopped driving a few years ago, but now I shall go back to owning a car: The veteran plates should be a good legacy for our progeny:) Hope the word reaches India’s Transportation Ministry, and they emulate this practice.

    Mini Menon

  2. Subhash says:

    Yesterday I was visiting the WW2 memorial/museum in New Orleans along with Fali Major and KB Menon; we are all here for a wedding. The girl behind the ticket counter asked if any of us was a veteran and we said yes, but from the Indian Air Force. She responded that once you have served it doesn’t matter where – and we got a discount ($14 instead of $20) on the entry fee. I have no idea how she guessed – is it something in our demeanour that sets us apart? These people really have a softy spot for those who have served.

    Bhoji

Leave a Reply

